Book Review: Dear Thing by Julie Cohen

25663606 Dear Thing

by Julie Cohen

Expected publication: March 29th 2016

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

ISBN: 1250081505 (ISBN13: 9781250081506)

Pages: 432

Synopsis:

After years of watching her best friends Ben and Claire try for a baby, Romily has offered to give them the one thing that they want most.

Romily expects it will be easy to be a surrogate. She’s already a single mother, and she has no desire for any more children. But Romily isn’t prepared for the overwhelming feelings that have taken hold of her and which threaten to ruin her friendship with Ben and Claire-and even destroy their marriage.

Now there are three friends, two mothers and only one baby, and an impossible decision to make…

Thought-provoking, heart-rending but ultimately uplifting, Julie Cohen’s Dear Thing is a book you won’t be able to put down, until you pass it on to your best friends.

** I received an e-copy of this book from Netgalley and the publisher in exchange of my honest review **

Well, reading the synopsis of the book I thought it would be like in the movies I’d seen about surrogates but I still wanted to read because I’d never actually read something like this ☺
Dear Thing was a really sweet and touchy read, the story for me was incredible and the way is narrated is pretty cool but the issues I had were the characters :/
The females characters Romily and Claire were nice, smart and unique in her one ways 😍 but they still felt like they were less than the other and they were always comparing with each other 😠. However, I liked them because they low self esteem was the only problem with them, aside from that they were amazing mothers that had some mistakes, incredible womans and perfect for each other. I think they could have an amazing friendship if they just relax a little bit.

tumblr_m11vv8pjs81qcie43o1_500
Now, the character I HATE the entire book, well no the entire book because there were time were I think nice things about him but I can count those times with one hand 😐. Ben was SO annoying for me, it was just a man who didn’t understand anything about woman. I know there are men that say “women are complicated” and for me that’s not true, we’re pretty simple and I couldn’t understand how he didn’t get what the women near him were feeling 😠 The only thing he was worry about was himself and his “Thing” and because he worry about it is that I liked him from time to time…

large
The other characters were nicer for me than this three. I liked the girls, especially Claire, but the other characters were better :/, more polite and caring. I would like that we had more story with Max, I’m still curious about him, I really liked that boy ❀.

Afterall and putting Ben aside, this book was very sweet but a lot of drama.The best thing about this book is that maybe the grown ups had problems with themselves and each other but they all worried about the kids, no matter what they would all together do what was the best for the kids <3. The end was sweet, it made so much sense and it is totally worth it πŸ˜€

Dear Thing made my days while reading it 83% better πŸ™Œ

You should read it if you like romance, contemporary, realistic fiction, family, surrogates, friendship and Adult😊.

Do you want to pre-order it?Β Barnes & Noble –Β AmazonBook Depository.

Julie Cohen: GoodreadsWebsite –Β FacebookTwitter.

That’s all I have to say about Dear Thing, let me know what did you think about this book 😁

I hoope you have an amazing day and reading time! 😍

πŸ’™πŸ˜š πŸ’™Β πŸ˜šπŸ’™

Leave a Reply

