Book Review: Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King

28488562 Mr. Mercedes (Bill Hodges Trilogy #1)

by Stephen King

Published: June 3rd 2014

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

ISBN: 1444788620 (ISBN13: 9781444788624)

Pages: 492

Synopsis:

A riveting cat-and-mouse suspense thriller about a retired cop and a couple of unlikely allies who race against time to stop a lone killer intent on blowing up thousands.

Retired homicide detective Bill Hodges is haunted by the few cases he left open, and by one in particular: in the pre-dawn hours, hundreds of desperate unemployed people were lined up for a spot at a job fair in a distressed Midwestern city. Without warning, a lone driver ploughed through the crowd in a stolen Mercedes. Eight people were killed, fifteen wounded. The killer escaped.

Months later, on the other side of the city, Bill Hodges gets a taunting letter in the mail, from a man claiming to be the perpetrator. Hodges wakes up from his depressed and vacant retirement, hell-bent on hunting him down.

Brady Hartfield lives with his alcoholic mother in the house where he was born. And he is preparing to kill again.

Hodges, with a couple of misfit friends, must apprehend the killer in this high-stakes race against time. Because Brady’s next mission, if it succeeds, will kill or maim hundreds, even thousands.

Mr Mercedes is a war between good and evil, from the master of suspense whose insight into the mind of this obsessed, insane killer is chilling and unforgettable.

-From Goodreads

** I read this book with the beautiful Aldii **

Mr. Mercedes was a good, interesting and nice reading. At first I wasn’t really into it but after the half of it I couldn’t stop reading because of all the suspense is contained πŸ™‚

The characters were nice and each one had their own thing, my favorites were Jerome and Janey. This two were the sweetest and more helpful of everyone ❀ . Another really interesting character was Brady, who was complex, with a lot of problems and sickness in his head. Brady story was really intense and he went through horribles things in his childhood. It was great that through the book we could read some scenes narrated by him. πŸ™‚

I can’t no name Augie and Janice, they were only in the introduction but with only that I felt in love with them ❀ It’s a shame what happened to them 😦

supernatural-dean

For me the way Stephen King writes is very formal and also kinda cold and I thing that was the main reason I couldn’t get in to this book so much. Another thing that made me no love this book was that in my opinion, the things happened too slow the entire book :/

Oh! And I have to talk about the sex scene that is in this book. I didn’t love it, πŸ˜› it felt like it could be my mom or grandmother, because my mom is still working. It felt so weird. πŸ™‚ It even made me laugh of how uncomfortable I was.

tumblr_m3pyr6gjn81ro509g

Mr. Mercedes hadn’t that much mystery :/ but it was entertaining to see what things Brady was going to do next and how Hodges would try to stop him πŸ™‚

The end was good, I was expecting it a lot but i didn’t go as I thought it would which is great and also a little bit disappointing because I wanted it to end as I thought. However, it was nice and with a lot of action. πŸ™‚

Mr. Mercedes made my days while reading it 78% better πŸ™Œ

You should read it if you like mystery, horror, fiction, thriller, mental illness and a little bit of romance😊.

Do you want to buy it?Β Amazon –Β Barnes & NobleBook Depository.

Stephen King:Β Goodreads –Β Website.

That’s all I have to say about Mr. Mercedes, I hope this help you to decide if you want to read it 😁

I hoope you have an amazing day and reading time! 😍

πŸ’™πŸ˜š πŸ’™Β πŸ˜šπŸ’™

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King

Leave a Reply

