Book Review: Paperweight by Meg Haston

23361172 Paperweight

by Meg Haston

Published: July 7th 2015

Publisher: HarperTeen

ISBN: 006233574X (ISBN13: 9780062335746)

Pages: 335

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Stevie is trapped. In her life. And now in an eating-disorder treatment center on the dusty outskirts of the New Mexico desert.

Life in the center is regimented and intrusive, a nightmare come true. Nurses and therapists watch Stevie at mealtime, accompany her to the bathroom, and challenge her to eat the foods she’s worked so hard to avoid.

Her dad has signed her up for sixty days of treatment. But what no one knows is that Stevie doesn’t plan to stay that long. There are only twenty-seven days until the anniversary of her brother Josh’s death—the death she caused. And if Stevie gets her way, there are only twenty-seven days until she too will end her life.

-From Goodreads

This book isn’t funny and you shouldn’t read it just to relax because this books makes you everything but relax. I will try to do the review as relaxed as possible but this book made me cry like there wasn’t tomorrow, it’s sad, tough and above everything, extraordinary ❤

tumblr_m8omgqwrxc1ry3lzeo1_500

It was just what I was expecting 🙂 Full of hurt, tough scenes and a really touchy reading ❤ I love almost everything about it, the way it’s written, the characters and the best thing was how many things this book made me feel ❤ I think the only problem I had was with Stevie a little bit, sometimes she exaggerate too much but I believe she was supposed to do it, so it isn’t a big deal.

I felt so sorry for Stevie because she went trought so many though things and she couldn’t deal with it anymore. Sometimes I liked her personality and others not :/ I liked a lot that for me she felt real, all the thoughts she had and all the things she did were real. Although sometimes I didn’t get her, I totally loved this girl ❤

tumblr_n102ty0pt91tryedao1_500

My favorite character was the psychologist, it was just a great psychologist and person :). I loved her methods and the way she reacted to all the things Stevie did/said. ❤ Always really nice and centered like a psychologist has to be 😛 By the way, I want to be one some day ❤

Paperweight made me cry A LOT, after the half of it I couldn’t read something about Josh because I cried, it made me miss Josh 😦 Now I remember and it just make me sad, it feels as if I’ve lost someone when I don’t even met him that much 😦 but I still know if I re-read this book I’m going to cry again and again for him. It was an amazing brother ❤ before Eden :/

I can’t explain how sad I felt, every time I read about Josh I thought about my sister and how it’d make me feel if she died and that made everything worst 😥 . When I finished this book I went crying to my sister and hugged her, she didn’t understand anything…

large

giphy1

I have to say that in the problem Josh and Stevie had for Eden (You have to read the book to know what I’m talking about 😉 ), I’m in Stevie’s side. I think I was always in Stevie’s side in the entire book but I’m not sure :/ Also, I know I should hate Eden for the things she did but I can’t, I don’t feel nothing for her which is weird…

Paperweight made my days while reading it 100% better 🙌

You should read it if you like reading about mental illness, anorexia, bulimia, lost, death, contemporary, realistic fiction and YA😊.

Do you want to buy it? Amazon – Barnes & Noble – Book Depository.

Meg Haston: Goodreads – TwitterBlog.

That’s all I have to say about Paperweight, I hope this help you to decide if you want to read it 😁

I hoope you have an amazing day and reading time! 😍

💙😚 💙 😚💙

Leave a Reply

