Book Review: Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

5287473 Hex Hall

by Rachel Hawkins

Published: March 2nd 2010

Publisher: Hyperion Book CH

ISBN: 1423121309 (ISBN13: 9781423121305)

Pages: 323

Synopsis:

Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It’s gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie’s estranged father—an elusive European warlock—only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it’s her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.

By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tag-along ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire student on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.

As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her.

-From Goodreads

Before I start I want to say that I don’t want to offend anyone and this is just my opinion, and if we think different it’s okay. 😀 ❤

This was one of the first books I reviewed when I just started using Goodreads and I write this: 3.5 ⌒.⌒
Ok… I like all the magic things and the end was great:D
But I didn’t like Sophie “loving” Archer the first day they met and how Al*** end (It was too easy).
The book was good and I enjoy it 🙂
Sophie was really nice and I like her 😀

At that time I was so scared that I could offend someone if I write what I truly feel but now I get it that is just my opinion and it’s fine to no think the same as everyone else that’s why now I’m going to say what I truly feel about Hex Hall (I’m still a little bit scared) and it’s that…

Hex Hall wasn’t for me.

ftctuu

But I’ll start saying the good things it had 😛 Sophie, the main character was very friendly and funny from time to time, I really liked the description of the school and the characters. Also, the plot twist wasn’t something I was expecting, it was very cool and surprising. The best thing that I hadn’t a problem at all was Archer, for me he was a great guy with all good things 😀 but I’d like him more if he would be more present in the book.

giphy

Now the things I didn’t like :/ Sophie was soo naive, she spent a lot of time fantasising and living in her own head that she didn’t realise a lot of things that were very visible :/ Also, the way she thought through all the book made me feel like I was reading from the point of view of child, which was kinda funny sometimes but it wasn’t what I was looking for.

Another thing was that all the things that happened had to happened that way, it didn’t feel natural how the things develop themselves. And also, they happened to fast for me. She was just one day and she felt in love, two days and she already had bad girls trying to “kill her”, but the only thing they did was something really silly like saying “mean” things at her (I can’t remember).

mean-girls-6

But the biggest problem I had was the romance, and I know it didn’t take a lot of space in the book but it just annoyed me when I read it. She was just one or two days in the school!!! And she fell in love! How did you do that? I know Archer is great but I know that because I read the whole book, I didn’t feel anything for him the first time I read about him -.-

instalove2bgif

Hex Hall made my days while reading it 32% better 🙌

You should read it if you like fantasy, witches, school, teens, romance, paranormal and YA😊.

Do you want to buy it? Amazon – Barnes & NobleBook Depository.

Rachel Hawkins: Goodreads – Blog – TwitterTumblr.

That’s all I have to say about Hex Hall, I hope this help you to decide if you want to read it or not 😁

I hoope you have an amazing day and reading time! 😍

💙😚 💙 😚💙

One thought on “Book Review: Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

Leave a Reply

