Book Review: UnCommon Bodies by various authors

27866401 UnCommon Bodies: A Collection of Oddities, Surivors, and Other Impossibilities.

by Michael Harris Cohen, Vasil Tuchkov, Bey Deckard, Brent Meske, Laxmi Hariharan, Robert Pope, Keira Michelle Telford, Jordanne Fuller, P. K. Tyler, Rebecca Poole, Philip Harris, Sessha Batto, Robb Grindstaff, Sally Basmajian, Deanne Charlton, Samantha Warren, Daniel Arthur Smith, Christopher Godsoe, Kim Wells, Bob Williams and S. M. Johnson.

Published: November 24th 2015

Publisher: Fighting Monkey Press

ISBN: 9780983876946

Pages: 307

Summary:

Step right up to the modern freakshow β€” We have mermaids, monsters, and more. You won’t be disappointed, but you may not get out alive.

UnCommon Bodies presents a collection of 20 beautifully irreverent stories which blend the surreal and the mundane. Together, the authors explore the lives of the odd, the unbelievable, and the impossible. Imagine a world where magic exists, where the physical form has the power to heal or repulse, where a deal with the devil means losing so much more than your soul.

-From Goodreads

** I received an e-copy of this book from the publisher and Netgalley in exchange of my honest review **

UnCommon Bodies was a creepy, weird and really interesting book.

It was so scary but at the same time amazing. For moments I was disgusted because there’s blood and all that kind of things but I didn’t want to stop reading because it was great! πŸ˜›

All the stories were really unique and imaginative but there were some stories that I didn’t quite get it and I had to push through them because they didn’t get my attention but they were only two or three. :/ I truly liked the majority of the stories but I have my favorites, which are:

We is we by Michael Harris Cohen: “We is we” follows a day in Mary and Millie’s life, traveling sideshow freaks who’ve lost touch with the outside world.

It was a great beginning, just reading this story made me really intrigued about the rest of the book. πŸ˜€ It was a little confusing at first but then everything made sense and it was epic! πŸ˜›

Saltwater Assassin by Samantha Warren: Syren has spent her life as a sideshow freak, caged in a tank of saltwater and gawked at by hundreds of normal humans. She has a secret, though. At night, when the ight are finally off and the fair goers leave, she turns into a human- a mermaid assassin.

It had an amazing protagonist, for me she was a badass and incredible woman πŸ˜‰ . I didn’t quite like the end because it felt to easy but the rest of the story was great and quite unique πŸ˜€

Don’t touch me by Bey Deckard:Β Fighting is what Beau does best, because the very thing he dreads is exactly what lends him the extraordinary strength to defeat even the worst odds. And he does it all with the help of his angel, the woman he longs desperately on hold… but can’t.

It was incredible! I loved this story, so romantic, tragic and strange. ❀ The best thing about this story was the problem Beau had, well it wasn’t nice but I’d love to hear more about it and the story itself. πŸ˜€

From the inside by Daniel Arthur Smith: Strange, wondrous things happen when weeks of rain, fever visions, and anxiety, comped a young traveler to journey across Central Europe in pursuit of a uniquely talented artist.

From the inside was a really deep, touchy, mysterious and also weird reading πŸ˜› . It felt really sweet and intriguing. I liked the meaning the “tattoo” had, was something really powerful πŸ˜€

The Well-Rounded Head by Sally Basmajian:Β A woman is smitten with her husdand’s big, entirely round head. One day she notices that his temples appear to be slightly indented, so that his head is no longer a perfect sphere. Thi revolts her, and she moves into their guest room to avoid him. When he breaks in, she kills him, in a most bizarre way.

This story was just on point. The story was incredible, the woman really crazy and while I was reading it I was picturing the Red Queen from the movie Alice in Wonderland, I don’t know why πŸ˜› I loved the poor guy a lot, he was so sweet and gentle. 😍

tumblr_midevtuwut1qg35tio3_250

Scars: First Sessions by Jordanne Fuller:Β  It take years to beat a strong woman into submission. It has to start somewhere. After a life of abuse, Abigail made the decision to cover her scars with tattoos. What she didn’t expect was to confront her emotional scars in the process.

This was also a deep and touchy story, the main character was really sweet and I felt so sorry for her because she’s been through a lot 😦 . And Tobias was a great man, really helpful ❀ I’d love to read the other sessions.

The thing I learned from this book it’s that if sometime a freakshow comes to my town I’m not going even if they pay me. Okay, talking serious there were some “strange” people who were really cool but the majority scared me, that’s why I’m not going.

UnCommon Bodies made my days while reading it 89% better πŸ™Œ

You should read it if you like horror, short stories, fantasy, fiction, anthologies and freakshows😊.

Do you want to buy it?Β Amazon –Β Barnes & Noble –Β Book Depository –Β Indie Bound.

*You can click in the names of the authors at the top and go to one of their social medias πŸ™‚

That’s all I have to say about UnCommon Bodies, I hope this help you to decide if you want to read it 😁

I hoope you have an amazing day and reading time! 😍

πŸ’™πŸ˜š πŸ’™Β πŸ˜šπŸ’™

One thought on “Book Review: UnCommon Bodies by various authors

Leave a Reply

