Author Interview: H. R. Kasper + Preorder The ShadowMaster

Hello! How are you guys? 😀 Today I’m interviewing the lovely author of The Mirror and her upcoming release The ShadowMaster, H.R. Kasper!

I have to tell you guys this woman is such sweet and polite human being ❤ I like her a lot through the emails we send each other 🙂 I hadn’t heard of her book before and it’s a shame because it sounds really cool, that’s why we decided to make this interview so you could get to know her and her books 😀 So here’s a little bit of her before the interview:

imageH.R Kasper is a fantasy author whose mind has taken her places she’s never expected. Her first book, The Mirror, has been called “fast-paced fantasy” and praised for its twists and description. H.R. Kasper is an Ohio native and as a fantasy author she is especially partial to fantasy books but she enjoys reading in general. H.R. is always happy to appear for guest posts, interviews, and even podcasts.

Email: hrkasperbooks@gmail.com

TwitterWebsite/BlogGoodreads.

And now the questions and her great answers…

Can you tell us a little bit about your new book?

Absolutely! My upcoming release, The ShadowMaster, is a sequel to my first book, The Mirror. In it, my main character Leigh and her friends embark on a treacherous journey to save the worlds of Sylvania and Vitreusia from utter destruction by the evil Noxans. Soon they realize, though, that perhaps no amount of sacrifice can prevent the looming war…

(You see! It’s pretty cool :P)

Who are your two favorite characters in your own book and why?

Oh, dear. Such a tough question! I love them all dearly but I must say that since writing The ShadowMaster the characters Zenith and Nayeli have grown on me a lot. I love the complexity of Zenith and his bravery in his battles. As for Nayeli, I am charmed by her sweet disposition and her innocence. Another thing I love about Nayeli or “Elli” is her loyalty and bravery.

(And this characters sound amazing)

Is there a character that you found hard to write?

Yes. My character Zenith (previously mentioned as one of my new favorites), was quite challenging. I don’t want to spoil too much but he is a bit of a hermetic personality…and he also has a constant battle raging in his mind. Between those two things, he put me through a tough writing trial. I don’t mind that now, because he’s grown on me so much and I’ve learned a lot through writing him. I’m particularly excited to continue his character arc in my next book (although all of my characters are undergoing an extensive arc!).

What did your family think when you told them you’ll write/publish your first book?

They were all very excited for me. Now most of them bring my book up to almost anyone they meet.

And now we want to know a little bit more about the person behind the work. What are your hobbies and why?

I enjoy graphic design and photography. With graphic design, I like creating and melding images with text and effects to create something entirely new. With photography, I enjoy capturing things from different perspectives, especially nature, scenery and wildlife.

(I love photography as well <3)

Is there a quote that rules your life?

Hmm. The golden rule comes to mind. One of my favorite quotes is “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take,” said by Wayne Gretzky. It’s simple yet very profound.

(Great teast!)

Is there a childhood moment you want to talk about?

Yes. This dates back to when I was very young, perhaps seven or eight. I remember on multiple occasions reaching out to touch my bedroom mirror with closed eyes, secretly hoping that there might be something on the other side. This is the memory that, combined with a cliffhanger writing prompt, inspired the first chapter and the concept of my first book, The Mirror.

(That’s really unique :))

What was your childhood like?

Looking back, I realize I had a great childhood. I have so many memories of just playing games outside with my siblings. I used my imagination a lot and I still do, just in a different way than I used to.
Something that worries me now is children don’t use their imagination as much as they did when I was young. It seems like children are more often entertaining themselves with technology than their own minds. I’m not totally against technology, but there’s just something magical about creating games with a few simple toys and an idea.

(You’re totally right H :/)

Who or which book inspired you to become an author?

I’ve read so many books that it’s hard to say which one inspired me to become an author. Authors who inspire me are C.S. Lewis, Rick Riordan, and Louis Sachar. I love their work and it’s something I strive for in my writing is to bring my craft to the lofty heights of theirs.

And now more about her upcoming release, THE SHADOWMASTER!

The ShadowMaster Kindle.jpgBook Blurb:

Who is the ShadowMaster?

According to a letter from the Sylvanian Democracy’s President, he or she is a force to be reckoned with. They are also the only person who can further secure Vitreusia from the hostile Noxans. Undertaking a treacherous journey, Leigh Kline and her companions must find the mysterious ShadowMaster…and convince him or her to turn against the very blood that runs through their veins. The danger is high, but the stakes are higher. Can war be prevented? Or is the prophecy about to be fulfilled, no matter how much Leigh, Zach, and the twins sacrifice?

Short Synopsis:

Leigh and company are about to embark on their most treacherous adventure yet. Their mission? Find the mysterious and powerful ShadowMaster and convince him to betray his own nation. If he does, there is still a spark of hope. If he doesn’t…war seems inevitable. Everything Leigh and her friends have ever known hangs in the balance. They are not just fighting for their lives, but for the ground they stand on. If they lose? The universe will be an endless mass of chaos and darkness.

Heroes are not born, but forged in the fiery furnace of catastrophe.

The ShadowMaster
Excerpt:

Zach Easton

Then the light vanished, and everything was dark. “Leigh?” I whispered. “Where are we? What did you do?”

“I’m not sure…” she answered, her voice quavering. Just then I heard footsteps. Torches were lit, and I looked around at what appeared to be an arena of sorts. People began to swarm in, taking seats in the stands, the seats of which seemed like they were made of black velvet. These people emanated darkness. Noxans.

“Leigh, what have you done?” I said in a small voice, a crack of fear showing through.

Tears were in my sister’s dark purple eyes. “I—I don’t know, Zach!” she responded, her voice heavy with stress.

A loud voice filled the arena. “Today!” it said. “Today we gather for the choosing of a new leader!” Cheers inundated the dimly lit arena. “Three enter,” said the man, who was standing in the middle of a triangular area, fenced off from the rest of the place. “Only one will rule.” I bit my lip. I did not like the sound of that. “Xavier Leon, of the X clan,” the man announced as a tall, lanky boy who couldn’t have been more than seventeen climbed into the triangle. Shouts rang out. Some cheered for Xavier. Others called out insults. “Yeraldina Warett, of the Y clan.” A sturdy girl of medium height entered the triangle. Again, some shouted their approval, while others yelled things like, “Kill her!” I looked at Leigh, grimacing.

I’m trying to get us out of here, but I can’t.” she told me.

The man spoke up again. “Lastly, Zynthia Avariss, of the Z clan.” I snapped to attention, as did Leigh.

“Zynthia!” I rasped as she clambered into the triangle. She looked younger, about fifteen years old. She looked at Xavier, and her eyes widened in seeming horror and disbelief. Her chest heaving, she glanced about her as if looking to escape somehow.

The man smiled, still standing in the center of the triangle. I realized he was not very tall, for Zynthia towered over him, even standing in her assigned corner. “You all know the rules. The duel begins now!” he cried, ducking out of the triangle.

Preorder The ShadowMaster on Amazon now!

4 thoughts on “Author Interview: H. R. Kasper + Preorder The ShadowMaster

Leave a Reply

